test run

So I’ve got two major wedding DIY projects that I’m going to have to pull off just days before the wedding. I’m making the wedding cupcakes, because I am known for my baking, and I’m doing the flowers, because I just love flowers. Last weekend was Daniel’s senior recital, so I decided to make the reception an opportunity to do a test run of a new cupcake recipe and to try my hand at flower arranging.

flowers and cupcakes

This was the first time I’ve done arrangements with floral foam and stuff (I usually just dump them in a tall vase or pitcher that can support the stems). My bridesmaid Pam bought the flowers for me as a birthday present and then I put the flowers together with my future MIL. We used the vintage milk glass vases she’s been collecting for me for the wedding. It was really fun! I learned a lot about how to combine and arrange the flowers and I’ve gained anew appreciation for interesting greenery. Best of all, now I’m sure I’ll be able to do it all for the wedding.

flowers and cupcakes

flowers and cupcakes

flowers and cupcakes

Being creative is really relaxing for me. It is going to be so much fun to do 15+ of these for the wedding! (Oh yeah, and there will be PEONIES!)

flowers and cupcakes

One response to “test run

  1. Kathy

    Sweetheart, this looks awesome!

Leave a comment

categories

archives