back from hiatus

Well, I stopped blogging for a good long while, and right in the middle of NaBloPoMo. I kind of got overwhelmed with med school applications, plus feeling like I was bad at blogging. I was not in a super-awesome place last November. I mean, I was fine, but I felt like I was in such a rut.

Well, just about everything has changed in the last six months. Most importantly, I got into medical school and we’re moving to Chicago in August!

Daniel and I are so excited, even though it means we’ll be moving away from Seattle and our beloved Northwest. And after reading back over the blog archives, I realize there are still so many things I wanted to share about our apartment that I never wrote about, and even a bunch of pictures I never even uploaded to Flickr. I have some blog drafts that I wrote and never posted. So if you’ll excuse things being a little out of date, I think I’ll try to get some of those up soon. Maybe I can ease back into blogging that way.

I feel so much more confident now than I did 6 months ago. By Christmas 2011 I knew I needed to start making some changes in my life, because I was certain I was going to be rejected from med schools again. Daniel and I even bought season tickets for the Seattle Opera 2012-2012 season. I got a few interviews, but after being rejected from almost everywhere, I felt completely demoralized. In February I enrolled in an EMT training program because I was sure I wouldn’t get into med school and I hated my current job so much. I found a mentor doctor to shadow and really started to feel like I was finally making some positive changes in my life. Then on May 1, 2012, I found out I had been accepted to the Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University. Bam – everything changed.

Now, a month later, after all the the congratulations and booking a mover and putting in my notice at work, I think I’m ready to blog again.

The thing is, I love going back and reading through the blog archive. But at the time I am trying to write for the blog, everything feels so clumsy and stupid and boring. It can be so hard – with everything I’ve ever written, really – just to get it out in the first place. It’s the main reason I end up taking such long unproductive breaks from blogging. So I am going to try to be more confident in my writing.

Here’s to the next 8 weeks in Seattle, and after that, the next 4 years in Chicago!

Valentines ranunculus

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
