my hair

I need a hair cut really, really bad. I think it’s been since March. But that’s not what I wanna talk about today. I want to describe my System.

Most of my hair styling is just a simple matter of working around my shower schedule. See, with waist length hair, you don’t want to shower every day, but since my hair is so fine, I can’t just go for days and days without showering. I always shower at night unless it’s a weekend, and I basically wear my hair in 3-4 different styles all the time. I don’t use any products other than shampoo and conditioner. My tools are a brush and a bunch of hair pins.

Day One

If I blow dried my hair correctly, Day One is great. I can wear my hair down (usually with just a twist off to the right). Here are some great Day One days:

good hair day

(I keep posting this one, but this was like my best hair day ever).

engagement photos

Sometimes I put my hair in a ponytail on Day One if I’m worried I might get sweaty later:

@ Dolores Park

journal

Day Two (ok, and maybe Three)

Day Two is a little hairier (haha). My hair is starting to get greasy and go limp. Since I’m blonde and my hair is so fine, it tends to look noticeably darker when it gets greasy. I can’t wear my hair down because it will just hang in disgusting limp strands. I either do a ponytail or a bun. Normally, I try to wash my hair every other day, but let’s be honest, sometimes it’s just more important to stay up watching TV with Daniel than take a shower.

Yachats

picnic at Golden Gardens

Here’s a pretty gnarly one:

Friendliest cat ever

Days Three or Four

Until recently, there was no good solution for those times when I am too lazy to take a fucking shower at least every three days. Then I discovered The Braid. I get more compliments on this hairstyle than any other.

successful hair strategy

I swear, my hair looks better on super-greasy days in The Braid than on Day Two in a ponytail. It’s totally awesome. And in case you’re wondering, it’s not hard to do – I never spend more than 5 minutes on my hair. (Trust me, I’m not good with hair. I was always the one with the long hair that other girls wanted to play with, so I never actually learned how to play with other girls’ hair.)

It’s way easier to do a sideways braid on yourself than you might think – try it sometime. Actually don’t. We can’t all do The Braid or the secret will be out.

4 responses to “my hair

  1. Kathy

    I’ll give you a haircut when you come home for Thanksgiving…I’d like to try and plan a get together at my house for Wednesday evening. That way you can do thanksgiving with the other parents.

  2. We’ll try to come home as soon as possible, but I work on Wednesday. We will probably get off work by 2-3, but I’m not sure.

    -Sarah

  3. How did you decide what hair day would be ideal for your wedding day? I have a similar system, but its those special events that trip me up.

  4. Hey Air (do you still go by Air?!? I forgot to ask.) Anyway, my mom is a hairdresser, so she has always done my hair for special occasions. Honestly, I didn’t think much about my wedding hair. We did one trial where we worked on getting the front bit all sorted out, but the back looked pretty different on the wedding day vs. the trial. I think there are a few good hair pics on flickr, but you can see it was still pretty much just a bun with some braids twisted around.

    -Sarah

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

