glasses

Between me and Daniel, our household probably owns eight or ten pairs of glasses. Not counting sunglasses. I have three pairs from my old prescription, one of which I wear almost every day.

Here is a shot from when I first got them, over two years ago. Man, my hair looked good.

good hair day

I recently got my eyes checked again, so I’m in the process of re-stocking. Daniel and I both like to buy multiple pairs of cheap glasses instead of settling on one designer frame. You would be shocked at how cheap you can get a pair of glasses for online. The best place for super-cheap glasses online is Zenni Optical – $8 glasses! (Actually mine were more like $30 because I have to order extra-strength lenses. But still, glasses that cost less than dinner out!)

Anyway, so I recently bought a pair of big, square, tortoiseshell glasses from Glassesshop. I call them my hipster glasses.

hipster glasses & self portrait

I like them a lot, but I want something else, more all-purpose to replace my go-to black frames. I’ve been eyeing some from Warby Parker, which lets you try on up to 5 pairs before buying. All their frames are $95, which isn’t bad at all. They have lots of really cute styles, but all the frames are pretty large. I wanted to get a cool two-tone pair, but they didn’t look right – they just made me look like I have freaky eyebrows.

These Warbys looked pretty good – they’re called Japhy. Maybe I’ll wait until they’re available in the lighter brown color though.

Warby Patker glasses - Japhy

And then I think I’ll also just get my same old black glasses from Zenni again. After all, they still look good.

What do you think?

One response to “glasses

  1. Kathy

    I love the 2nd picture with the 2 tone glasses. They are really cool looking, and different from your normal…..love them

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
