ring care

peridot

I have some photos of the early Christmas decorating I’ve been doing, but I’ll post those in a day or two. Instead, how about a picture of a pumpkin?

peridot ring

This is a ring I got from my mom. It’s peridot, her birthstone. This post is a reminder to you ladies to clean your jewelry every once in while! This ring had been languishing in my jewelry case for years because it seemed dull, small, and boring. But after a good cleaning, it looks amazing and is so much greener than it used to be. I’ve been wearing it on my right hand for about a week now, and it is totally holding its own against my much-bigger engagement ring.

peridot ring

Here is everything I know about ring care:
Cleaning rings:

I basically follow these instructions from Real Simple, except I’m not that fussy. First, I soak the ring in warm water and ammonia (or a little window cleaner works too). Then I scrub gently with a soft toothbrush and a soap and water solution. Rinse in hot water and dry gently with a soft cloth. I clean my engagement ring every few weeks.

Preventing wear and tear:

Although diamonds and sapphires are very hard, they’re not invincible. Most of the wear and tear on engagement rings comes from rubbing the bedsheets at night, so take them off before bed (I put the arms of my glasses through my ring and fold them up, so I know I’ll never forget to put the ring back on in the morning.)

2 responses to “ring care

  1. Kathy

    Rare Bear,
    I’m so glad you’re wearing my ring. Your Grandfather gave it to me for my 13th Birthday, it was my first piece of fine jewelery. I know it must be so much happier on your finger seeing the world…instead of playing dead in a box. yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Speaking of rings from dads, I haven’t been able to find the garnet ring Dad gave me for my 10th birthday. It’s a marquise garnet and two tiny diamonds. Could it be in with your jewelry?

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

