My first earthquake!

I’ve been having a hard time sleeping lately – my schedule is all messed up from staying up late to hang out with friends or write papers, and it’s likely to get even more disrupted when I make the 9-hour time change in a week. (Oh my god, only a week left!)

So this morning I woke up around 6am after tossing and turning for a while. I was just drifting off to sleep again around 6:20am when all of a sudden the bed started shaking for about a full second like someone was kicking it. Thankfully, my first thought was “So that’s an earthquake!” otherwise I would have been really freaked out. As it was, my heart was pounding. About a minute later there was a distant creaking sound and a small aftershock. Suffice to say, I never fell back asleep. When I finally gave up and got out of bed a few hours later, I found out that it was a 4.7 magnitude quake with the epicenter about 25km southeast of Lund.

Seattle is in an earthquake zone, what with the Juan de Fuca subduction zone and multiple active volcanoes in the region, but I’ve never felt an earthquake before. I read Apartment Therapy San Francisco, and they’re always talking about earthquake-proofing your home. I do have a lot of glass and ceramic stuff on shelves back home, so maybe we should think about getting some of this stuff to keep things from falling, and re-evaluate how we hang things on the walls, especially over the bed. Maybe I should replace all my nails with those picture hanger hooks.

In other words, tomorrow is my last full day in Lund! I did all my laundry yesterday and so tomorrow I have to pack everything up, make a chicken pot pie for my farewell dinner, and give away all the stuff I won’t be taking home with me. My friends have been so much friendlier ever since they found out I was giving away my stuff… Then on Thursday Laura and I set off for Stockholm for a few days.

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
