Bad news, and a challenge

Well, I have bad news. On Monday night I spilled an entire glass of wine on my laptop and fried it. I haven’t had a chance to take it to the shop yet, but I am just hoping that they can get stuff off the hard drive for me. I have a backup on my external hard drive, but it is about a month old, so lots of my pictures aren’t saved. I ordered a new (yellow!) laptop, but it will take weeks before it gets here.

Thankfully, I have a keycard that gives me access to the Kemicentrum whenever I want, and all my friends have offered to let me borrow their computers to check email.

Today is November 1st, which means many things to many people: it is the day we all have hangovers from Halloween parties 8but that will be the topic of another post), it is All Saints Day, or Allhelgonadagen in Swedish, and El Día de los Muertos in Mexico. But November 1st is also the first day of NaBloPoMo, the month-long challenge to posting once a day for 30 days. I think it will be a fun challenge this year, because although I am computerless, I also have practically nothing to do this month besides cycle to school to use the computer, and have adventures to blog about. I only have class for three hours a week, and the only assignments I have left are two papers due in December. In other words, this is the time I have to make good on my study-abroad experience, and I may as well blog about it. Plus, I have been really sucking at keeping this blog up to date lately.

So, I will return tomorrow, and hopefully I will have figured out how to get photos off my camera onto a computer that doesn’t have an SD card reader. Vi ses!

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
