Day 3–old WIPs

Today I was going to talk more about sustainable food, but it’s getting late and I’m tired, so here’s an update on a bit of craftiness I’ve had in the works since spring — my rainbow granny square afghan. Now, when most people take over 6 months to finish a project (and I’m not done yet!) it’s because they’ve gotten bored with the project, but that’s not me this time. I may have been distracted with school and work and moving, but I’ve also secretly been dragging this project out so that it lasts a long time. It’s just so relaxing to always have something to do at night. I like to watch TV while I crochet. Here’s what I’ve got now:

Did you notice that some of the squares are smaller than the others? That is because I am a moron who broke the Cardinal Rule of Yarn — ALWAYS buy enough of one shade to finish your project! I have been waiting since midsummer for Elann to get new stock of Highland Wool in my border color, Serengeti Sand. Until then, there’s no rush for me to finish everything, because all my new blocks need their borders anyway. And I’m not too worried about the fact that when Elann gets my yarn in stock, it won’t be from the same dye lot–this is a granny square afghan, after all.

I’ve even -get this- enjoyed weaving in the ends! I must be crazy, I guess.

Does anyone else out there want to share a WIP you’re especially fond of?

One response to “Day 3–old WIPs

  1. Beautiful. I have a particular fondness for the Granny Square.

    I’ve been working on a super heavy duty shop apron for my hubs to wear in his wood shop for about 5 months now. I used a wood grain fabric for the front…because I’m clever like that.

    I don’t know if I am particularly fond of it any more…but I was when I started it and I will be when It’s done!

    I’ll have to blog it during NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
