NaBloPoMo, anyone?

I really do love my blog. But I also, for the most part, love my life. But I am giving NaBloPoMo a try, starting today.

I guess we’ll start the month with a little bit about something that has become important to Daniel and me recently: eating local. We’ve started getting almost all our fruits and vegetables from a local CSA (more on that later), and we’re really checking the labels when we do have to buy produce at the grocery store. I guess I can stretch that topic into a couple days’ worth of posts, because I have a lot to say about the merits of organic vs. local produce. But for now, I’ll leave you with one of the best examples of how to use local ingredients to delicious effect: homemade apple pie in Washington in October.

And the ever-changing view from our kitchen:

I will be back tomorrow…

3 responses to “NaBloPoMo, anyone?

  1. I ‘m just in from the NaBloPoMo randomizer. I am curious about your take on organic vs. local produce. I have recently switched over to mostly organic produce, but not a lot is grown locally. There are foods that are grown here, but not all we eat. We are in a food coop for vegetables, but often the items in the bag are not things we normally eat. It is a dilemma, for sure!

    Would love to have you drop in at Miller Manor!
    TM

  2. What a beautiful looking pie!

  3. Pingback: the best brownies ever | a fistful of basil

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

