two weekends

Well, this weekend may qualify as the most boring weekend ever. Daniel took the car to Spokane to teach at a music camp for a week, so I’ve been home alone without the car. I walked to the farmer’s market and grocery store yesterday, but without my U-PASS (unlimited free bus rides, but I can’t get one this quarter because I’m not enrolled for summer classes) I don’t really feel like taking a bus anywhere. On Tuesday I’m going to fly to Spokane to see my family, so only one more day of absolutely nothing to do.

Last weekend, however, was a lot of fun. On Saturday, we went to Remlinger Farms in Carnation to pick some raspberries, and we also came home with half a flat of pre-picked blueberries. I think we’re all set on berries now until blackberry season comes along. I made some freezer jam, and some delicious chocolate raspberry tarts.

Don’t those berries look luscious?

The recipe I used is here. If I make it again, I think I’ll make my own shortbread or pastry crust, because the one in the recipe was a little tough. The tart was delicious, though.

Next I want to try making this Raspberry Whipped Cream Truffle Cake…my mouth is watering already.

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

