Vancouver vacation

Well, today was the first day of the new quarter, so I guess I had better post about my spring break. Mom and I went to Vancouver for a couple of days, and we got some awesome shopping done. Here are some photos:

This is the view from our hotel room. We stayed at the Victorian Hotel, from which we could walk downtown and to Chinatown.

The rooms were European style, with a hall bathroom, and a sink in the room, which I really like. they were small, but very charming, and the hot tea down in the lobby was delicious.

We went to the Granville island, where I got a lovely new umbrella at the Umbrella Shop (highly recommended — I love that place!) and we went to the public market to grab some lunch and picnic stuff. This is my beautiful mom modeling a beautiful blackberry tart.

And of course I went to Dressew. Yes, those are milkmaids and their cows on the pastel, and poodles and streetlamps on the stuff in the middle. Love that place.

And we went to this amazing flea market at the Croatian Community Center on Commercial drive. Check it out — it’s coming up again in June. I found these lovely linens and hankies and a few other things there. It was awesome.

I’m so glad I got to take this trip with my mom. The last time we went away together just the two of us was when I was in 7th grade. I had so much fun.

My other project last week involved a lot of movie watching and crocheting. I’m working on a granny square afghan (it appears that everyone else is too) . As soon as we get some sunshine here I’ll take photos of what I have so far. I’m almost a quarter of the way done!

One response to “Vancouver vacation

  1. Oh man. That ribbon is too cute! Anything in mind for it?

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
