coconut macaroons

I love coconut — the texture and the flavor and the sweetness … delicious. After seeing Morgan’s post about her scrumptious coconut patties, I thought I might post the recipe for my own favorite macaroons.

Many macaroon recipes called for sweetened condensed milk, but this recipe uses cream of coconut, which is usually found in the bar/mixers section of the grocery store. Probably the most common brand is Coco López. The other secret to why these macaroons are so good is that the recipe calls for two different kinds of coconut. The sweetened flaked coconut adds moisture and texture, but the shredded stuff really helps hold the cookies together. If you can’t find unsweetened shredded coconut, I wouldn’t recommend trying to form pyramid shapes, because they’ll just fall apart.

This recipe is from America’s Test Kitchen, and usually I can’t stand the smarmy perfectionism of the authors. All the Three Bears-style advice (this meat is overcooked; this meat is undercooked; this meat is juuust right…) and their stubborn insistence on their exact proportions to achieve a perfect recipe can get pretty annoying. But I think they’ve done well with this one.

Daniel hates coconut, but he was the best at shaping the macaroons! I took these shots while they were still cooling, but they really look lovely once the bottoms have been dipped in some chocolate.

Here’s the recipe:

Triple-Cocount Macaroons
From: Inside America’s Test Kitchen, previously published in Cook’s Illustrated magazine
Makes: about 4 dozen cookies (usually much fewer for me–maybe 2-3 dozen)

Ingredients:
1 c. cream of coconut
2 T. light corn syrup
4 large egg whites
2 t. vanilla
1/2 t. salt
3 c. (8oz) unsweetened, shredded, dried coconut
3 c (8oz) sweetened flaked or shredded coconut
good semi-sweet chocolate, for dipping

1) Adjust oven racks to upper-middle and lower-middle and preheat oven to 375 F. Line two baking sheets with parchment and lightly grease.

2) Whisk together cream of coconut, corn syrup, egg whites, vanilla, and salt in a small bowl; set aside. Combine the unsweetened and sweetened coconut in small bowl; toss together, breaking up clumps. Pour liquid into coconut and mix with a rubber spatula until coated. Chill for 15 minutes.

3) Drop heaping tablespoons of batter onto parchment (or shape them into pyramids with your fingers). Bake until light golden brown, about 15 minutes, rotating racks.

4) Cool cookies until slightly set, remove to wire rack.

5) Dip bottoms in chocolate; refrigerate until set.

I hope someone else makes these and enjoys them as much as I do!

9 responses to “coconut macaroons

  1. Those look delish! Will definitely give them a shout-out!

  2. I hope this does not freak you out too much. I am away from home and looking for the Test Kitchen recipe for macaroons. Thanks for posting this… it makes my life easier!

  3. Oh… I found you when I was searching for the recipe via google. Thanks again.
    -Randi in Texas

  4. Fred

    I’m planning on trying this recipe because it IS from America’s Test Kitchen. Sometimes I think they go too far, so I don’t try those recipe’s, and the one’s I do try – like these macaroons tomorrow, I hope – are always a hit!

  5. The cookies are yummy.

    They are really superub. I got the recipe from a neighbor of my daughter’s. I watch America’s test kithchen occasionaly but have never seen this recipe before.

    I have had problems with coconut macaroons before. I think the flavor is enhanced by using the coconut milk rather than the condensed milk method.

    Thanks so much. ruthie

  6. Pingback: Coconut Macaroons « Jacob's Kitchen

  7. sue wong

    I love coconut macaroons…in fact coconut anything! Bought some delicious ones in Melbourne, Australia and was looking to make some of my own back here in Singapore. Didn’t know what I bought was coconut macaroons- at first. I love cooking and eating, so nibbled through the macaroons, examined it closely and realized it was made of dessicated coconut, sugar and possibly egg whites which gave it a lovely snowy effect and a distinct chewiness. So I Googled coconut egg whites recipes…and voila! Thank you!

  8. Anonymous

    I have made this recipe a bunch of times successfully (including once for passover where corn syrup was a no-no, so made an equivalent amount of simple syrup). I usually use low-fat cream of coconut, and usually put a bit of Grand Marnier and/or orange zest in with the melted chocolate…but even without that, they’re still pretty awesome!

  9. Cclot

    Tried this recipe from their book and loved it. I did their version that uses only sweetened coconut because I couldn’t find unsweetened. The only change I will make next time is to decrease salt by half the amount.

    I happen to love their detailed explanations, because if not them then who else? It’s always helpful when you want to make an adjustment in case you thought a different ingrediant could work or you ran out of something, you’ll see if your new plan is feasable based on their experience. I have yet to try a recipe from their book 1000 Best New Recipes that I didn’t like!

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

photos

New curtains for the dining room.

New curtains for the dining room.

...and after the haircut

More Photos
