Halloween

One of the best things about having our own apartment is being able to entertain. We had some friends up from Salem for a couple of days a few weeks ago, and on Tuesday we threw a Halloween party. (And we just discovered that the University will let students borrow projectors for free for a week, so there will definitely be some movie nights in the near future).

Anyway, I’ve been pleasantly suprised at how impressed our guests have been. Little things seem to impress more than I would have thought — things like making guacamole (so easy! and the avocados were on sale!) and using glasses made of glass for drinks (we’re not camping or at a frat party, are we?) It’s actually kind of hilarious, because I think now our friends are beginning to see us as “the classy ones”, which is equally flattering and sad.

Anyway, I’ve been having a lot of fun playing hostess. I made the chocolate cupcakes with orange frosting that I mentioned earlier, (which were a big hit at the party and at work today) and the guacamole. Daniel made some delicious homemeade caramel apples, and Tatiana made the punch. On Monday night the three of us stayed up late decoarting the apartment — there were tea lights all over the place, and we opted to display our jack o’lanterns indoors as part of the decor, since we’re on the third floor of our building, so no one would have been able to see them from outside anyway. The goal was to get so many tealights burning that we didn’t have to leave any of the house lights on, which worked well. I got some good pictures of the effect.

I didn’t actually decide what I was going to dress up as until the day of the party. I went to the U-district Red Light on my way home from school to pick up a fedora, but I didn’t end up wearing it very much, because the brim wouldn’t stay the way I shaped it and it didn’t really fit. I was originally going for an Ingrid Bergman look, but after I did my hair, I settled on Veronica Lake as my style icon for the night. I was pretty pleased with my hair and makeup, and I love that dress.

One response to “Halloween

  1. Sarah,
    You are SOOOOOO BEAUTIFUL!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

