mini cupcakes

Two weekends ago Daniel and I went downtown to grab some Flagship at Beecher’s and a baguette and a giant levain at Le Panier. The weather was gorgeous; we snacked on the bread and cheese in the sun. It was a lot like the delicious picnic that Daniel, Tatiana, and I went on last spring, minus the brie and pears. One of my favorite weekend things to do.

Of course, I also had to go pick out a gorgeous bouquet at the Market for $5 (!)

Naturally, all of that was merely tangential to my original point, which is that I got a mini-muffin pan at Sur la Table, and I wanted to try it out. So last weekend I searched around for some recipes and went to it. Daniel had also bought a sweet new microplane, so I decided I might as well make lemon cupcakes so that we could zest some lemons.

I ended up baking the lemon cupcakes from The Artful Cupcake, the recipe for which I found at geek_kitten’s site. I’m not sure how much I liked the recipe, because the cupcakes seemed a little dry. But maybe that has something to do with the fact that I refrigerated the batter overnight, since a regular batch of cupcake batter makes a TON of mini-cupcakes, and I didn’t have the energy to make 4+ batches after midnight.

For the frosting, I used this buttercream recipe, and I love it! Next weekend I want to make some chocolate cupcakes using a new cake recipe, but keep the buttercream, with orange this time instead of lemon for Halloween. The lemon was nice, but a little spring-y. I think some rich chocolate with a hint of orange will be delicious and a little more seasonal (no pumpkin cupcakes for me though–blech!)

These were a big hit at work, too.

Leave a Reply

categories

archives

